Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Sam's rimless 11.4 gallon LED nano

L8 2 RISE

Hi all, I'm new to NR, but not to reefing. I'm 17 and have been in the hobby for 4 years now. I've set up a 12 gallon FO, 225 gallon reef system (only a 75 display), and currently a 160 gallon display/ 250 gallon system at home. I've also set up a 200 gallon system (150 display) for oceanography at school, and a 60 gallon seahorse system in a Biology classroom.

Now, my 160 gallon tank is going to have to come down soon because I'll be leaving for college this year, however my mom wanted/was ok with a nano tank set up in an alcove of our house. This build is going to move fast because I have most of the coral/livestock already and I have a lot more money to spend on stuff since I'm breaking down my big tank.

This is what I had to start with (note the lego's to estimate tank size):

51d14c6b.jpg

I wanted to use at least 2 par38's so picked up a fixture and with a weekend worth of Macgyvering, ended up with this:

f7d610a7.jpg

The bulb I am using is the dimmable LEDwholesalers par38. It's a relatively new bulb with not much in the way of info out there yet, and it only uses 1 watt LED's, so I'm waiting on a PAR meter to check how well it works. Until then, I LOVE the functionality of these bulbs, they are controlled by a remote and I can dim the whole fixture, dim or turn off just the blue lights, or just the white lights, etc. Here are some pics:

both blue and white on full (note, crappy cell phone pics, no where near this blue):

f7d610a7.jpg

Just blue:

fde3b240.jpg

Just white:

56774415.jpg

The tank is a Mr. Aqua, glass, rimless 11.4 gallon. I like the dimensions a lot, though wish it were taller for the application that we're using it in. Circulation will be provided by a vortech mp10.

New toys:

71187308.jpg

7031119e.jpg

I got the rock and sand into the tank yesterday, and will hopefully get around to posting about that soon.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply