inTank Media Baskets

Fluval Edge Saltwater

ajay88

So I have finally ventured into my first saltwater Nano reef. I saw the Fluval edge at my local Petco and thought it would look nice with coral and a couple small fish. I have no prior saltwater experience and have had a 20 gallon freshwater tank 5 years ago. I figured I can do some research and pick things up from the forums.

So far what the equipment I have:

Stock Filter

Rena SmartHeater (50w)

Ecotech MP10w

Lights

Using the stock mr-11 sockets for 2x LED Lights (7000K)

2x Coralife 50/50 lights

R2 Moonlight Dual Extreme (complete overkill, but looks nice at night)

2x mr-16 UV Lights (to complement moonlights at night)

5x White 3-LED array (10000K)10 lbs. Caribalive Fiji Pink Live Sand

see light thread http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=270068

6 lbs. Manado Live Rock

5-gallons Ocean water (bought from Petco)

2 x thermistor controlled 12v Fans (for canopy, cooling)

I have everything except for the 3-LED array (backordered). Ive found out that the stock canopy does not have enough space for all those lights and the 50/50 are generating too much heat. I dont have any livestock, but Im trying to figure out a solution to keep the heat down.

As for the tank Parameters. I had the tank running for 2 days with just the saltwater and Live Sand:

3/29

Temp: 78.7

Ammonia: .25

Nitrates: 5

Nitrites: 0

pH: 8.2

Salinity: 1.023

After adding the Live Rock I did a test about an hour later (also tested reef params)

Temp: 80 (the 50/50s were on for 2 hours)

Ammonia: .25

Nitrates: 0

Nitrites: .50

Phosphates: 0

pH: 8.2

Calcium: 360

Salinity: 1.0235

KH: 179

Im not sure where I am with the tank cycle process. I would like to begin adding livestock, but dont want to add anything that is going to die instantly. I just thought maybe I could get some help with getting the tank stable.

If anyone has any suggestions for the canopy, Im all ears

IMG_20110329_183802.jpg

IMG_20110329_183817.jpg