inTank Media Baskets

I'm a beginner at saltwater...How much did it cost you at first?

starbucks10v3r

starbucks10v3r

My name is Julia.

And well...I have had freshwater tanks before and its just not as pretty as saltwater tanks! including fish..i just hate the way freshwater fish look like...too fishy for me if you know what i mean. haha

So how much does it cost to start with a 30 gallon or so tank? with all the required live rock, sand, pumps and salt and etc.

not including fish...ill probably start with a cheap fish so just incase my tank goes bad i wouldnt have lost a lot of money on fish!!

also i have read that you need 1 pound of live rock per gallon...could you do less rock so you can spend more money else where?

Thanks

any other tips or things i need to know would be great!

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Budget $2K and no, you can't skimp on the live rock, it's the main filtration. I think 1 1/2 lb per gallon is more appropriate.

My name is Julia.

And well...I have had freshwater tanks before and its just not as pretty as saltwater tanks! including fish..i just hate the way freshwater fish look like...too fishy for me if you know what i mean. haha

So how much does it cost to start with a 30 gallon or so tank? with all the required live rock, sand, pumps and salt and etc.

not including fish...ill probably start with a cheap fish so just incase my tank goes bad i wouldnt have lost a lot of money on fish!!

also i have read that you need 1 pound of live rock per gallon...could you do less rock so you can spend more money else where?

Thanks

starbucks10v3r

dang seriously

I was adding up most of the stuff and it was about $250 but it wasnt including water and some other things...

what makes it so expensive?

cowboys2222222
dang seriously

I was adding up most of the stuff and it was about $250 but it wasnt including water and some other things...

what makes it so expensive?

what was in your budget...