Cultivated Reef

10 Gal Sump/Fuge Project *Updated*

Codeman

So I've decided to make a sump for my 6 gallon nano since I have a bunch of extra 10 gallon tanks, extra parts and equipment laying about. I'm also building a stand, so I might as well design it around the sump. I'm doing my best to build it with mostly stuff I have laying around or can get for cheap (I have a list), as I'm a poor college student.

My plan:

Mod an Aquaclear 30 into an overflow by drilling and adding a bulkhead. I plan to use 3 foam blocks in the filter to prefilter the water going into the sump and to slow the flow (rated 150 GPH) rate a bit.

I'm probably just going to grow a pair and drill the tank. I'll probably get the nano complete setup from glass-holes.com.

I have a penguin 550 powerhead I'm not using and I found a spare filter strainer basket that fits on it, so I'm going to use this for the return pump. It's rated to pump 145 GPH.

The sump itself will be a 10 gallon AGA tank. I was planning on having it maybe 3/4 full at most just for insurance in the event of a power outage. I plan to use it as a 'fuge as well. I will use some kind of refugium substrate (Carib Sea Mineral Mud or Kent Bio Sediment or more live sand), live rock rubble and Chaeto to boost filtration.

My major remaining questions are: Does it matter what the height is for the baffles in the sump if I only plan to put 6-8 gallons of water through it?

Also, would it be best to use glass or acrylic for the baffles? The pros and cons I can come up with are:

Glass:

Pros - Easier to fasten, silicone will bond to it. Scratch resistant.

Cons - Live rock may break it, can't cut teeth into it easily, will cost $$$ to have cut.

I am also building a stand for it out of 3/4 inch plywood and pieces of pine for extra support on corners. Should be built today, painted stained tomorrow?

Will add pics as I go so keep checking in!

Acrylic:

Pros - Won't crack, have cutting tool for it, cheaper(?), can dremel teeth into it.