Coral Vue Hydros

Capture’s 30 Gallon Rimless Build

capture

I’ve been in and out of the hobby for years. I think since 2007/2008. Back in March I started a little 7 gallon Deep Blue cube and I’ve been adding things, moving things around, making changes and mistakes. I built myself a bench in the basement back in May and haven’t been happy with the setup. The tank gets neglected. So I’ve been contemplating a change.

Lets get to the part you guys are here for. A few weeks ago I took my son to an LFS and he couldn’t stop staring and talking to all the fish. I decided I need more tank space for fish. Just so happened the LFS had a used 30 gallon rimless frag tank sitting in the corner. I have always liked the dimensions and look of the 30 gallon frag tanks. He gave me a good deal and it was in my car. So, now the journey begins. I’m no expert but I’ve done my fair share of learning from reading here and other forums as well as with trial and error. I look forward to hearing your thoughts and ideas as this moves on.

I have a rough plan for what I have in mind. Details will come as I move along but hoping you guys enjoy. Being a photographer I love photos as much as the next guy so I’ll make sure to keep my post stocked with photos as I can.

I’ll start with a teaser.
22419472755_4503a3f571_b.jpg
Here is my tank back in April. I think I put in my first zoanthid frag at this point.

So I got the tank and nowhere to put it. So I started with a stand.

The stand started as 3/4" Birch plywood. I didn't go with anything too expensive as it was going in the basement. I wanted simple, clean and sturdy.

22393493236_3566c7f9e4_b.jpg

With no truck you gotta get the goods home somehow.

Before breaking down my ply I build myself an 8' zero clearance track for my saw. The hope was to get some nice straight square cuts. Worked pretty well.

22231521090_34cc1ecfbf_b.jpg

Ply ready to be worked.

22406280152_c24baf5871_b.jpg

Track for the saw.

22419472035_6dfb936fc0_b.jpg