Top Shelf Aquatics

pod eating zoa?

grafxalien

I noticed for about a week now my favorite zoa colony hasnt been opening and the number of polyps have been disappearing. however, i worked ~ 90hr last week so didnt have time to investigate much. Today there is only 2 freaking closed polyps left, so i said what the heck, i will fresh water dip it. after about 5 secs in this bad boy flew off the rock. Looks like a big pod to me, but i am pretty new at reefing still. Im guessing if there is one doing it, there are probably more. how do I fix this problem? It is a 10 gal tank with 20 gal sump

DSC03111.jpg

Search on here for several threads called

amphipods stressing my zoas

Amphipods eating my zoas

Bastards on my zoas

Then do a fresh water Dip on the affected colonies. Swirl the colony in the water to dislodge the critters.

They will come back but this gives your zoas a few days breathing space and a chance to open.

I have the same issue. you need something to eat them. likely a fish. like wrasse. or others. just research and talk to the people u buuy ur stock from. . ur tank size will play a part in what kinds of fish u may be able to use. ive yet to find a sultion that does not require a fish .

Sea horses. But that is not a solution unless sea horses are all you have. I moved my chaeto to another side of the tank today and hundreds of them came crawing out, slithering down the back wall into the substrate and then into the rocks. ARGH.

altolamprologus