Pod Your Reef

16g AGA Bowfront- Tampa Bay Saltwater LR!!

rvk2

After two years of 'lurking' around this forum and various others I have finally started my 1st reef tank. I have been keeping FOSW tanks for those two years, but because I knew I was moving (and a lack of funds at the time), I never started one of my own. Have been building up my equipment for the past 6 months, finally moved into NYC, and have now finally started my 1st reef tank!

For some reason I have never been able to post on this forum from work-- until now!- which is why I haven't been very active as I do most of my reef searching during slow work periods ;) ).

I just purchased a 16gal. 'package' from TBS and yesterday got the 1st half of it- man, this rock is amazing! If you like a 'natural' looking reef tank you have to buy from them- for the 1st half I received one large rock approx 16lbs- it fits perfectly in my 16g bowfront and looks incredible!

Not as full of sponges, etc. as it seems the rock usually comes- but with all the terrible weather down in FL they had to harvest the rock from a place further out than they normally go.

The rock has a TON of macro algae on it- I have already found 3 starlet corals, misc. small snails, a few small sponges-and I just picked it up last night. Hopefully a few more things open up within the next few days (I am almost positive there will be)!

The rock and water smelled fresh- it had only been in the air 3 hours and I picked it up within an hour of it landing. As it is shipped in water there was no die-off that I could see. I simply drained the LS of the water it was packed in- put it in my tank- then put the rock immediately in the water from its packaging. Looks amazing!

Equipment:

16g AGA bowfront w/ stand

80w Orbit 20" PC fixture

Remora Skimmer w/ Maxijet 1200

Aqua Clear 70 Filter (w/o media)

Ice Probe Chiller (installed in AquaClear lid)

3 Tunze Universal pumps (Mini 5024.04 - from premiumaquatics.com)