October 12, 2011

IMG_3874.JPG

September 1, 2011

IMG_3738.JPG

August 16, 2011

IMG_3656.JPG

August 4, 2011

IMG_3608.JPG

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here. I'm building a macro reef in a Mr Aqua 12 gallon long tank and would like to bring you all along for the ride! This thread is going to be pretty picture intensive, so I hope you all like images. The first batch of posts are a time lapse of the first 6 - 8 weeks of the tank.

I look forward to your comments - both good and bad!

Equipment:

• Mr Aqua 12g Long with custom glass top
  • Aqua Euro 1/13 HP Chiller (not in use)
  • MJ404 Pump driving the Chiller (closed loop)
  • Finnex 100W Titanium Heater
  • Dual Ecotech MP10es in various modes throughout the day controlled by Apex WXM
  • Tunze Osmolator ATO
  • Neptune Apex Controller
  • PinPoint Salinity Meter
Lighting:

• 36" Coralife Aqualight Dual T5 HO 'Frankenlight' Fixture with following additions:
  • Two 24" Current TrueLumen 453nm Actinic LED Fixtures
  • 24" Current TrueLumen 12K LED Fixture (one hour each day at noon)
  • Apex LSM with 5 Moonlight LEDs
Filtration:

• Aquaclear 110 HOB
  • Tunze 9002 Skimmer with DIY Intake Muffler
  • Innovative Marine MiniMax Reactor running Warner Marine ekoBAK BioPellets
  • Innovative Marine MiniMax Reactor running Seachem SeaGel
Clean Up Crew:

The bulk of the clean up crew comes from Reef Cleaners. A few came as hitchhikers via live rock and algae.

• Dwarf Ceriths
  • Florida Ceriths
  • Large Nerites
  • Small to Medium Nerites
  • Stomatellas
  • Several cool but unidentified snail hitchhikers
  • Copepods (bajillions of them)
Livestock:

All livestock comes from Drs. Foster & Smith.

• 3 - Blue/Green Reef Chromis (Chromis viridis)
  • 1 - Pom Pom Crab (Lybia edmondsoni)
  • 1 - Peppermint Shrimp (Lysmata wurdemanni)
Corals:

The bulk of my corals come from Drs. Foster & Smith. A few come as hitchhikers via live rock.

• Green Toadstool (Fiji)
  • White Pom Pom Xenia
  • Florida Ricordea