SaltCritters.com

[Biocube 29] -- Finally "Taking the Dip" Into Saltwater!

Reef_Monster

Reef_Monster

Greetings,

I am ready to get started on my adventure into the world of saltwater.

I have been studying both online and in books for many months and am going out to buy a used 29 gallon Biocube I have had my eye on.

It is currently mostly drained with moist sand remaining in the tank.

It comes with 6lbs of live rock (not enough I know, but it is in good condition). My only worry is it has been sitting in a bucket of saltwater with no water movement or changes for a few weeks and will be for a few more. I may be looking at some major die-off on that rock.

The tank has been in operation for one year and all is in working condition with no leaks.

This thread shall begin during the somewhat boring, but building excitement of taking the tank home on the 15th of next month.

I have some ideas about what I want to do with the tank, but am looking for input/suggestions from as many places as possible.

Ideal Modifications:

• Build Custom Stand to Hold Aquarium
  • widen notch between chambers one and two
  • Remove Bio Balls
  • Remove Stock filter cartridge
  • Remove false floor in 1st compartment and insert heater (Stealth 150W)
  • I'm considering the CPR Aquatics SR3 Protein Skimmer and Tunze 9002 for compartment two
  • Add 2 power-heads directed at the front wall of the tank

Livestock:

• 1 Pair Ocellaris Clownfish
  • 1 Firefish
  • 1 Shrimp Goby or 1 Yellow head jawfish
  • 1 Royal Gramma considering new options . . .
  • 30 (or so) lbs of live rock
  • Looking for Clean Up Crew Suggestions (snails/shrimp/ect)

I think that's about it for my beginning ideas. I'm here to make sure I am prepared and don't make too many "newbie" mistakes.

Welcome!

Just my opinion, but I wouldn't put 5 fish in a 29g. I have two clowns, a pygmy angel, and a purple firefish in my 34g Solana and I think that's about right. Plus, royal gramma's are known to be aggressive.