SaltCritters.com

Cubby's 5.5

Cubby23

Well here it finally is people my 5.5 gallon.

Coralife 36 watt 50/50 light

50 watt stealth heater

74 GPH power head

I finally got to add sand and live rock today. My LFS really had some great pieces but i paid a premium of 12.99 a pound.

It took me over an hour to finally my my rocks where I wanted, I think it looks good now. Most have great coralline and I got some good hitchhikers. I have seen a few tiny snails about 1/4" and two arthropods one of which was swimming. I have not seen him in a couple hours now. I also got some green algae which I'll leave in there for now. I really got some stunning pieces. I even think I got three tiny corals. I also noticed some other small soft growths. I was also thinking about adding a couple more pieces.

Does it look like I could use more?

The tank is still clearing and I got some OK pictures. Good camera Olympus 8MP Digital SLR but I'm a crappy photographer so far.

Now starts the long cycling process.

Pics on next post.

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm sorry for the poor image quality. I am still learning the how tos of photographic lighting.

FTS

015.jpg

009.jpg

007.jpg

Really cool large piece

016.jpg

There is one of the snails. Small, grey, dead center.

012.jpg

I think this is a coral. I will try to get a zoomed and cropped picture up soon.

017.jpg

010.jpg

Haha, I wasn't expecting such speechlessness. I'm open to any criticisms or tips.

Here is a better picture of the coral.

cropped.jpg

Thanks

Looks like a good start to me! I would add a little bit more rock, but I like the big arch you have going on in there. :)

What are your stocking plans?

Yeah I think I'm going to pick another piece or two up to add to the left.

I am not 100% of what my clean up crew will be. I would like to keep a banded coral shrimp or a small crab if that is possible. I will pick up a few more snails and 2-3 hermit scarbs as well.