Top Shelf Aquatics

New to the NANOs..first attempt: Aqua Japan AJ45

Grantlewis1983

Grantlewis1983

Hello all, just getting back into aquariums and such. Decided I wanted to do a Nano reef. Expensive and challenging I'm aware. Giving it a go. Any ideas or recommendations are welcome as I am new to reefing. Thanks!

Specs so far:

AJ45 Acrylic tank

Cobalt Neo-therm heater 50watt

Stock light fixture (led, unsure of light output it's all in Japanese)

Stock media, added bag of charcoal (removing media once all my live rock arrives)

Rio+ 600 or 800 return pump (can't remember)

Tunzi Mini pump 5024.04 for surface breakup and water flow (not pictured)

Coming soon:

AquaC Remora Nano Skimmer with MJ900 pump

20 pounds of Caribean live rock

Any suggestions, ideas?

post-90604-0-62671800-1455565459_thumb.jpeg

post-90604-0-61678700-1455565611_thumb.jpeg

Pull the carbon. It is used to pull DOC's (dissolved organic compounds) out of the water and keep the water clear looking. Since you shouldn't have any DOC's in the water it's not doing anything for you.

Wait to setup the skimmer since you want the tank to cycle first and again it's for pulling DOC's out of the water so again not doing anything for you yet.

Check on the lights. If you want to have corals you need to make sure they are the right lights. That may be a planted tank light or just a light up the tank with nice color light.

See if you can convert one of the back chambers to a small refugium that will hold cheato or other large algae. It will help keep bad algae from growing.

Grantlewis1983

Yea, was gonna pull the media but had heard it's ok until tank cycles. Pull it anyway? Pull the ceramic media as well?

Yes I want to upgrade the light, it claims to be an 8watt LED, which isnt enough to be any good for corals.

If I remove the media there's a good open chamber that would hold the cheato, but I may need the space for the skimmer pump. Hadn't planned on doing a refugium but it's an option.