Cultivated Reef

Starting an edge

StrifeX

Hello everyone. I'm very new to this hobby and am excited to get going. I'm glad I've found such an informative site. I received a 12g fluval edge as a gift and would like to set it up as a nano reef. After reading I see that I need the following:

• Heater
  • Live Rock
  • Salt water
  • Powerhead

So as I understand, the live rock as well as any "cleanup crew" I get would serve to filter the tank, however, (and I'm sorry if this is a stupid question), do I need to do anything to the stock filtration system in the back? Also, as I understand, live sand isn't necessary, but could quicken process. So my current plan is to gather all of the above, and begin "cycling". I assume the water changes still take place at this point. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Welcome! This read will cover new tank cycling in full detail.
http://www.reef2reef.com/threads/new-tank-cycling-tank-bacteria-and-cocktail-shrimp-live-rock-no-shrimp.214618/

Nothing is needed for the life of the tank beyond rock and sand, lights, feed and water changes. Zero dosers or additives are needed and the tank can be run without any filter compartment whatsoever, whatever you want to put or not put in the compartment does not matter. The salt brand you use doesn't matter, all salts mix up to params that support coral

cured live rock is that strong of a filter. This bare method keeps the same corals and fish alive as the full bells and whistles system $1000 will keep, but this setup requires water change work weekly as the trade off if it was mine I'd do 3-5 gallons or more a week. The higher percentage water change you do, the better, not the least. Changing large volumes of water doesn't upset a reef, it makes it live for many years my posts show. Changing lesser amounts is ok too and can be done more frequently if that mode is chosen.