Top Shelf Aquatics

Starting a new Fluval Edge 6g Need some help/input!

redknight

Hey guys, I'm totally new to the hobby and about to set up a new Edge 6g. A lot of you probably will say that it's a bad tank to start out with and to that I just want you to know that I felt in love with the tank and I'm a medical student, so time is an issue. I want something nice to look at while I study. Something small that can site on my desk. And something different, I didn't just want another 10g tank! I want to start with something small and see where it goes. I plan on putting the tank next to my desk out of sun light of-course. Also plan on putting some corals in the tank not sure what kind yet, still doing some research.I would like to keep this tank as simple as possible but I do not mind doing some work. So here is what I have so far.

Fluval Edge 6g (got it for $20 bucks new)

SpectraPure 6 Stage Choramine w/SilicaBuster and MaxCap RO/DI (I was some what unsure about actually purchasing a RO/DI system but I didn't want to have to go to the store and bring back water every week)

Fluval E50 heater (got this because I didn't want an ugly thermometer and this heater has one build in)

So that's everything... now I know I need to upgrade the lighting if I want any kind of corals at all. Looking at AI Prime and EdgeBrite.

Lighting

So here is my first question. I see on ebay that there are a couple of options for EdgeBrite. They make the standard 9v (I know this isn't enought) but what should I get 18v, 27v, 36v. Please keep in mind that I don't know what I want to keep for corals yet but I def want room to grown. Are there any other options beside Edgebrite and AI Prime? Any pros from one over the other? I want to keep the stock look of the Edge as much as possible.

Filtration