Coral Vue Hydros

Saltwater rookie - 1st tank

chappy6107

Hey everyone. I am new to the forum and new to saltwater tanks. I have been doing freshwater for about 10 years. I am starting out with a JEBO r362. This is a 30 gallon cube style tank without the chambers in the back. Instead it has the chambers in the hood. I don't plan on using the hood at all and I do have a hob 3 chambered overflow/refugium that I plan to use. I will post pics later.

So far I have bought some pukani rock and have given it an acid bath, bleach bath, and currently soaking in some RODI water w/ a powerhead. I also bought some Caribsea arag-alive reef sand - special grade. It is a 20lb bag, so I will probably need a bit more. As for salt I have bought instant ocean regular for the time being until down the road when I start adding corals. I will purchase RODI water from LFS until I can make my own. powerhead wise I bought some cheap ones off of ebay. a 4 pack cost $20 and each one is rated for 528 gph. I figured I could use a couple in the tank, 1 in the mixing bucket, 1 extra or use it in a freshwater tank I already have. We will see how long they last though.

What do you all think so far?

after putting on the eye protection & rubber gloves, slowly pour the muriatic acid in a little bit at a time.

it will start to bubble up

IMAG0539.jpg

it will most likely overflow

IMAG0540.jpg

the bubbles will be nasty

IMAG0543.jpg

after about 20ish minutes the bubbling activity will stop then

pour the baking soda over the bubbles

IMAG0544.jpg

it will ferment again like this

IMAG0545.jpg

afterwards the bubbles will die down. I then rinsed for a Looonnnngggg time with the garden hose. and currently the rocks are soaking in RODI water with a powerhead. I will post a pick of the before & after a bit later.