Innovative Marine Aquariums

PicO Skimmer 2.0 WHY?

aviator300

I'm pretty new at this hobby and have been at it less than a year and usually run "pico" sized tanks.

Ever since i started almost all the posts i've read about protein skimmers on Picos say they are next to useless on these small tanks and water changes take care of most all nutrient export.

All of a sudden, everyone with a pico size tank wants the new PicO Aquariums 2.0 skimmer and looks at it as almost a "must have" piece of equipment..

Why?

Having a skimmer is going to allow for more feeding and more leeway with water changes, in case you don't have a routine schedule or have to postpone it once in a while. A lot of people feed heavily because it's wonderful for growth, but you need to be able to keep up with nutrient export and a skimmer's a good way to do that. Since the PicO skimmer's tiny, doesn't add heat (which is an issue in smaller tanks), and can run in like 4" of water, it's a really good option. Plus, the skimmate gets routed elsewhere so you're not fiddling with a cup that may or may not fall off or whose lid is tighter than the cup itself or whatever other problems some other nano skimmers have.

Having a skimmer is going to allow for more feeding and more leeway with water changes, in case you don't have a routine schedule or have to postpone it once in a while. A lot of people feed heavily because it's wonderful for growth, but you need to be able to keep up with nutrient export and a skimmer's a good way to do that. Since the PicO skimmer's tiny, doesn't add heat (which is an issue in smaller tanks), and can run in like 4" of water, it's a really good option. Plus, the skimmate gets routed elsewhere so you're not fiddling with a cup that may or may not fall off or whose lid is tighter than the cup itself or whatever other problems some other nano skimmers have.

+1