inTank Media Baskets

Rimless Aquarium Help? Yes, I used Google. Head Really Hurts.

Bill_68

Hello All,

I found some nice glass. It is just over 3/8" thick. It is not tempered. I got it from a store that was selling off fixtures.

The panels are 16" x 38" x just over 3/8" thick. I bought ten of them for 20$. SCORE! They are beautifully beveled on the edges.

I was thinking FRAG TANK! 38" x 38 3/4" x 16"

So, Do I need bracing? http://www.theaquatools.com/building-your-aquarium says "No." It does not specify glass kind and I am a bit concerned.

Also, how thick does the bottom need to be? I am a bit concerned about safety here, since it doesn't have a frame. I have heard of people using Plywood painted with epoxy resin? Seemed odd to me.

Ideas anyone?

Bill

sorry, I'm no engineer.. lol.. can't help with yes or no.. but if you decide to put a brace on it consider a euro brace.. it'll help you keep that clean rimless look.

http://www.fnzas.org.nz/?page_id=1635

use a safety factor of 3.8 as its the industry standard... could go higher if you want. Silicone is going to be your weak point make sure to use momentive rtv 103 or 108 its pretty much the only one worth using. The calculator is for a rimmed tank but the rim on a tank unless braced in the middle is only for keeping the silicone in place/ease of assembly. The website has some very useful info on glass strength if you are interested.

With those measurements I am seeing it requires 6.5 mm glass and at that thickness would bow out .318mm.

If you use glass at 9.525mm or 3/8th you have a safety factor of 8.1099 and it will bow out .109 inches.

Thanks for the links. I thought it was odd that one of the sites showed the bottom panel as being the length less the thickness of the glass x2.

This is my first rimless. Doesn't the bottom equal the external size in an aquarium? Do you. Have a factor for silicone thickness that you add to that dimension.