ReefCleaners.org

Easy Quarantine/Hospital Tank Setup

jec11718

So you have a sick fish, new addition, or fancy expensive coral that you just couldn't past up buying at the LFS....NOW WHAT? Well if you are a gambler... Ignore the sickness, and hope your fish gets better on its own. That new fish...take it home, acclimate it properly and "dump" it into your DT! Or that new coral.. whatever hitchhikers there are- they would like a new home too!

A QT is for all marine life, Corals included, but this guide leans more toward sick fish, esp. those with ICH.

I am no expert, but I just recently set-up a new QT/HT tank. This is how I did it, it was not difficult but there are steps you should take to make it less stressful to you and your fish, coral, and inverts! I have never made a post about something others might follow to help a sick fish, a quarantined new addition or new coral so this post is what worked for me and my fish are not stressed or dead so I think its safe to say that the steps I followed were safe/stress-free and will work. But here is the disclaimer...Get all your facts and equipment straight before you put your new fish or sick fish in QT.

Ready??? THE LIST OF EQUIPMENT:

1. Tank--shoot for 50% of your DT size...If your DT is 100gallons a 55 will work but a 29 would suffice.

a 10 works nice for a 10,15, 20 or even 29. But be reasonable...it doesn't have to be exactly 50%. I used a ten because my DT is 20H. The new tank came in a three-sided piece of cardboard, it was the perfect three sided background for less stress on tank inhabitants. I taped it to the back with clear tape. I used one side of the cardboard to document everything I did with each med application, WC or buffer or test. Dated so I would have a useful calender to follow a schedule. wc every 4 days with meds, a buffer for ph every two weeks, stress zyme every other opposite of buffer etc.

2. heater/thermometer-- I used a spare 100w that I had and a two dollar suction cup thermo.