Top Shelf Aquatics

My complete DIY setup

grafxalien

grafxalien

The ideas for this project all began from me wanting to start a fluval edge tank with an overflow for a sump. So I started to learn google sketchup to test ideas. After various different ideas, I decided that none were perfect and I should just design a tank in sketchup and have someone build it for me. However, after bouncing ideas off of glazer, he convinced me to try and build it myself. I have had some DIY experience in the past, but very minimal with glass work. I also have lived in college apartments for the past 8 years, so I did not have many tools or much working space. However, I had a month off before I moved out of state, so I thought why not...it will be fun!

Final sketchup for tank:

tankidea4.jpg

tankidea6heatsink.jpg

After finalizing the dimensions, I went around town to local glass shops to get some quotes. I quickly learned that cutting large notches in pieces of glass is not easy. Some places refused to even try while others wanted to charge over 50$. I found a store that cut all of the rectangular pieces I needed to size for 45$, which I thought was a great deal.

DSC01862.jpg

However, I still had to find a way to cut the notch in the top piece of glass. After lots of google research and messages with glazer, I decided on an arc method. Basically you score a large U shape instead of a square. I watched some videos of people do it online, seemed easy enough. After many small scale practices, I gave it a shot. End result, EPIC FAILURE:

DSC01863.jpg