Top Shelf Aquatics

New Golden Dwarf Moray not eating

acrowbat

Hello everyone, I am new to the world of salt water aquaria and I have a question about getting a Golden Dwarf to feed. It has been about 10 days now since I got him and he still hasn't taken a bite of anything. I have offered him mysis shrimp on a feeding skewer as well as chopped up clams on a skewer and he barely looks at them, almost acts as if he seems afraid of them. How long do they generally go without feeding and what has anyone found to be the best way to get them eating? I am generally trying to feed him in the day time. Should I try at night? I havent found much info on their feeding preferences other than offering them a wide variety of foods and wiggling it in front of them. Thanks for your help. Pocky Balboa (the eel) will greatly appreciate it

post-41076-1234651454_thumb.jpg

buy some frozen shrimp from the sea food section at the grocery store, thats wht i fed mine with for three years till he jumped out. thaw it first in some water and cut it up a couple times. Plus they hunt by smell so you really have to put it in front of them for awhile before they can find it.

I would recommend some live food and then try to ween him to frozen squid, shrimp, chopped fish (make sure its not oily), etc.Like in the wild, the majority of the eels will rarely come out until after dawn or dusk so that would be your best bet to feed him.

Good luck

What would you recommend for live food? I am currently trying to feed him with frozen mysis and chopped up frozen fruti di mare (clam, crab, shrimp, octopus etc)

Thanks for your help

I would recommend some live food and then try to ween him to frozen squid, shrimp, chopped fish (make sure its not oily), etc.Like in the wild, the majority of the eels will rarely come out until after dawn or dusk so that would be your best bet to feed him.

Good luck