Coral Vue Hydros

Toast’s 16 Gallon Biocube - I Went to Japan 🇯🇵⛩ and Almost Crashed my Tank Edition

Toasteh_ghost

Toasteh_ghost

Hey guys! I’m brand new to the saltwater aquarium world and, after a lot of research and lurking, finally decided to set up a nano reef using a Biocube 16. I’ve already gotten a ton of great advice from people on this forum and am excited to be able to document my journey with everyone!

Tank: Biocube 16 LED

Setup Date: 1/26/2019

Rockscape: 12-15lbs live rock from the LFS

Sand: CaribSea Aragonite Fiji Pink Sand (10 lbs)

15lbs Nature’s Ocean Bio-Activ Aragonite Live Sand, Natural White

Heater:  Cobalt Aquatics Neo-Therm, 50W. Located in Chamber 1.

Powerheads: VorTech MP10

Additional Equipment: Green Killing Machine, 9W. Located in Chamber 3.

Filtration: Poly filter, Chemipure Blue

Livestock: 2x “Lightning Mocha” Ocellaris Clownfish (“Kona” & “Kopi”)

1x Bicolor Blenny (“Steve”)

1x Cleaner Shrimp (“Pierre”)

2x Scarlet Hermits

1x Tailspot Blenny (“Tony”)

1x Helfrichi Firefish (“Penny”)

Corals: 1x Green Toadstool Leather

1x Australian Torch

1x Australian Sage Hammer

1x Pipe Organ

1x Floridea Ricordea

1x Blue Cespitularia

1x Violet Cespitularia

1x Daisy Duke Zoanthid

1x Red Gonipora

1x Candy Cane

1x Green Birds Nest

1x Blue Sympodium Polyp

1x War Paint Scolymia

Upgrades and Modifications: Removed false bottom from Chamber 1. Replaced stock media basket with inTank Media Basket. Upgraded return pump in Chamber 3 with Cobalt MJ900. Removed partial wall between Chambers 2 and 3 where sponge used to be to make additional space for MJ900 and UV sterilizer in Chamber 3. 

Miscellaneous Equipment: 25W Cobalt Aquatics Neo-Therm Heater for heating up water for water changes, refractometer, Zacro digital aquarium thermometer, API Master Saltwater Test Kit, Salifert test kits, Phosphate Ultra Low Hanna Checker