Pod Your Reef

10-gallon Cylindrical Nano?

Vandur

Everyone,

Well, I have been a lurker for a while, and after posting a question about a Xenia eating Nudibranch last week, I thought I should go-ahead and post my other "problem".

I have recently dismantled a 10-gallon +/- cylindrical fresh water tank in the hope of making it into a 10-gallon nano-reef (It's actually the top of an old gas pump that I have been using as a fish tank for the last 15-20 years.). I have already setup a nice 20H and after one severe incident, wanted to try something that would be both technically and visually interesting. The tank (see the attached photo) is roughly 12x36. Unfortunately, this makes it just a "hair" too small for 2x18w light kits. It’s because of this that it looks like I will be stuck using 2x13w or even 2x9w. If anyone has a better idea PLEASE let me know. I would like it to be “all one piece”. So please keep that in mind also.

Even when I find a lighting solution that will fit my needs, I am still stuck with the dilemma of water circulation and filtration.

So, there you have it, my plea for ideas. Feel free to pummel me with them. :D

PS: Three other things to keep in mind while you pummel me with idea's.

As this is an old gas-pump, I do have 2 1/2 inch holes in the bottom of the metal casing, so I could potentially run pipes/hoses through the bottom of the tank. I was actually thinking about running a piece of piping through the exact center of the tank and then attaching rocks/corals to it.. but… *shrug*

I would also like the lights to be “inside” the tank. No clip-on’s or hangers! This will have to be a “semi” stand-alone tank.

Finally, I am basicly building this to keep mushrooms, ricordia, zoo's, polyp's, and/or a neon or green stripped goby.

Any idea’s you could send my way would be appreciated! (If I don't end up with anything good it'll probably be turned into a Jelly-fish tank... While some what blander then a reef tank, they are kind'a neet to watch.)