Pod Your Reef

Pictures of my 10g tank....

Civicman86

Here are some pics of my 10g that I took two days ago. The water is a bit cloudy in the pics since I had just reaquascaped. There is now a black clown in the tank too that is now pictured.

tank1.jpg

tank2.jpg

tank3.jpg

Ill snap a pic of him here in a few minutes. To my knowledge he is just a percula black clowns. Sorry for noobishness, Im still learning :)

True perculas:

Amphiprion perculas can't be found completely jet black. They have morphs with black bodies but the fins are still orange. This morph is called an onyx clown.

False perculas

Amphiprion ocellaris can be found all jet black with white stripes. This is likely what you have.

Here are pics of Oscar :)

I guess my guy is true. I always thought they were somewhat orange and slowely turned black. His face and fins (im sure you can see above) are still a yellowish black.

Oscar1.jpg

Oscar2.jpg

Oscar3.jpg

How do you like your lighting setup? Is that the Satellite Dual Flourescent Compact Lights (w/ moon light)? I use that in my tank... I'm just ending the cycle, but I was wondering if it's doing you any good/bad

From the pic, it looks like you're running an HOB filter. If this is the case, consider removing the filter media and replacing it with some live rock rubble.

P.S. Your tank is cycled, right?

yes it is cycled. The HOB has nothing in it, it just basically moves more water for me. When I first started I only had one PH and the HOB. Now I have another PH (waiting for the suction cups to come in the mail) and it will be in there. One it comes Ill probally take the HOB off.

Im planning a fuge right now.

Also what is the easiest way to tell a true perc from a false? The guy at the store was all about, oh well that one is a true perc and the others are not real (he said he could tell by the stripes).

Either way it was suppose to be 30 bucks fish but I think he messed up and I got him for 18 bucks :)