Coral Vue Hydros

My 5.5 AGA Project

kevxross

Hi all. After presenting myself here as a total newb a couple weeks ago, doing a lot of research, and getting a lot of great info, I'm diving head first into a 5.5 AGA (nano or pico at this size?) project.! It's going to have a false wall/overflow to a refugium. Here's what I have so far:

materials1.jpg

5.5 AGA, black acrylic cut to size for the false wall, two pieces of glass for the fuge chambers. I got the acrylic and glass for free. Gotta love having a friend in the glass business B)

What I have on the way:

This retrofit PC lighting kit

but I'm swapping out those bulbs for 2 32W SmartPaq Daylight 10000ºK/Actinic 460nm.

And here's the rest of my shopping list from Drs. F&S:

• Mini-Jet 606 Adjustable 84 - 160 gph (will this be sufficient, yet not too much for my return? Should I downgrade to Mini-Jet 404 at 20 - 106gph or upgrade to a Maxi-Jet?)
  • Visi-Therm Deluxe 50w (opinions? Wanted a Jager 75w but it's 2.5" bigger)
  • Coralife Digital Thermometer
  • Portable Refractometer
  • Seachem Saltwater Basic Test Kit
  • Instant Ocean 50 gallon salt mix
  • Mag-Float Mini
  • AquaClear Filter Basket - 300 (It's just the basket replacement part. I was thinking I could mount this in one of my fuge chambers to run filter media).

I'll try to draw up a sketch of my plan real quick to give a better visual, but mainly I want advice before I place my Drs.F&S order! Any opinions on my shopping list? Anything I'm forgetting, anything I should leave off, or anything I should replace? I wanna get as much as I need in this one order to pay one shipping rate. Thanks for any input and please follow me on my journey as I'm going to need more advice for sure!

Thanks as always!

Here's a sketch of what I'm doing:

sketch.jpg

I'm also going to build a wooden hood and stand like this:

hoodsketch.jpg