Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Cdogs 240g Acrylic

fmfa0801

Intro

I know this is "nano" reef but I started on here with small tanks and just really liked the information, help & website.

This is my first large reef tank. I have been doing this for 4 years. I started out with a 14g biocube w/LED CADlights 34g w/LEDs, 1.25g cube & i now have a custom 50g rimless ran by 6 PAR38 LEDs.

The Tank:

I picked up a 240g 8x2x2 acrylic tank off craigs list for $250. I had to drive 2 hours to pick it up. It has 3/4" acrylic on the sides and back with the bottom, front and euro bracing 1/2". The tank has normal scratches but nothing deep. I am in the process of sanding and polishing the whole thing.

Hardware:

240g acrylic tank 8x2x2

1,350 GPH pump

Vortech power head

12 PAR38 LEDs 20k w/40 degree optics hung by SS wire & track lighting

Sump

Custom stand

Livestock I already have:

2 grade A picasso clowns

3 RBTA

1 green carpet

1 mystery wrasse

1 blenny

1 pistol shrimp

1 skunk shrimp

SPS

nr3.jpg

nr4.jpg

nr5.jpg

Here is my current set up That I will be switching over to the 240g. Its a 50g rimless with 6 PAR38 LEDs. LEDs, rock, sand & all livestock will be used for the new tank.

nr1.jpg

nr2.jpg

I would take it to a acrylic shop and have them professionally touch it up... Used acrylic tanks are nothing but trouble IMO.

Sweet tank tho, dimention wise.

The only down fall I see is it scratches easy and I gotta remove them. And come on I couldnt pass up this tank for that cheap lol. What do you think this tank cost brand new?

Wow sounds like an awesome project.

Thats a nice sized nem youve got there btw

Its 3 close together. One big one about the size of a big grapefruit and 2 smaller ones about the size of a baseball. I had 2 but one split.

Its 3 close together. One big one about the size of a big grapefruit and 2 smaller ones about the size of a baseball. I had 2 but one split.

Oh I see...you dissapoint.

:lol: