Cultivated Reef

J's ADA 60-F, "A Simple Life".

dknydiep

Current FTS as of 10/08/11

10_08_111-vi.jpg

Current FTS as of 9/15/11

91511_1-vi.jpg

Hey everyone,

Just wanted to introduce myself. I've been doing freshwater planted tanks for quite some time now, and finally pulled the trigger and started my first saltwater tank after getting some inspiration from Schreiba's tank (Thanks, since I'm having fun, but man the costs will add up quickly!). It also made the start easier, considering that I already had the tank, filter, and lily pipes.

I am going for a minimalist look, with 2 "islands" for my corals, as well as minimal equipment in the tank. The only issue I see is that I get a little bit of surface film. I've been looking for the Mame Skimmer, but can't locate one in the U.S.

I'm brand new to this so any comments/critiques are welcome. I'd like a recommendation on where to move the birdsnest once I take it off the plug. Any suggestions?

Equipment

ADA 60-F (Approx. 8.6G)

Cal Aqua Labs 13mm Lily Pipes

Eheim Ecco 2232

2 x Evils' Par 38, 20k and 12k

Hydor In Line Heater

Corals

To be honest, I have no idea what any of the names are, so help is much appreciated!

Inhabitants

3 Sexy Shrimp

Various Cleaner Crew

2x Clowns

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Tank as of 8/15/11

1-vi.jpg

Left side

12-vi.jpg

3-vi.jpg

Right side

13-vi.jpg

4-vi.jpg

Vortex

5-vi.jpg

Some sort of brown zoo (name?) with 2 sexy shrimp

6-vi.jpg

2 corals, names?. I made a noob mistake and let the two touch for a second. The zoo looks bad at the point of contact. Are those areas now dead?

7-vi.jpg

10-vi.jpg

GSP

8-vi.jpg

A nice green, purple, and pink zoo. Name?

9-vi.jpg

Thanks for looking, and again, suggestions are welcome since I'm a noob!

The lights are currently ghetto rigged. I'm trying to figure out a cleaner way to mount the light. Anyone have a good fixture that I can use for my bulbs?