Innovative Marine Aquariums

Yeast's Rimless 10 Gallon Desktop Aquarium

yeast

Hello all,

Background

I have been keeping aquariums for 17 years, first freshwater then later on saltwater. This will be my fifth saltwater aquarium and currently my only aquarium.

The Theory

Simple, efficient, minimalist.

I maintain the aquarium during my free time at work, so it is low tech, low maintenance but should yield high results. There will only ever be 3 items that need to be plugged in for this aquarium for each of the important aspects of an aquarium. Adequate water flow, intense light and stable temperature.

The Equipment

- Koralia 425. Small, quiet, efficient and powerful. Perfect for my application.

- 50 Watt stealth heater. This has been recalled and I will be returning it next week.

- 10 gallon Hagen rimless aquarium.

- 70 Watt metal halide, hellolights reflector, NAIS electronic ballast and 20K ushio bulb. I have fashioned a DIY light hanger and will detail it's construction here:

Tools required:

Drill, screwdriver, wrench, hacksaw, measuring tape, zipties.

To create the light rod, you will need:

Electrical conduit ($5 for 10 feet f 1/2" conduit)

36280-Emt-Electrical-Metallic-Tubing-1.jpg

A 90 degree conduit elbow ($5). Alternately, you can get a pipe bender and bend the pipe for a seamless bend.

424548856.jpg

A hole plug (5/8" worked well for 1/2" conduit). This is to cap the end of the pipe. ($1)

hole_plugs.jpg

Bolts, nuts and washers. These are used to fasten the conduit to something to hold it up and to make the attachment points for the pipe to hold the reflector. ($2)

nuts-bolts-washers-.jpg

Conduit hangers/clamps ($2)

034481160229.jpg

And if you're like me, a can of black spraypaint to make it look uniform and sleek. ($6)

rustoleum.jpg

How to create the light hanger: