inTank Media Baskets

Aiptasia? Also a red spiky hitchhiker

TSwift

It's day 4 that my new 12 gallon nano cube has been cycling and i noticed brown tentacles growing out of a crevice of a rock. I am almost positive it is aiptasia. If so, I guess ill go buy joe's juice. There is also a red thing that looks similar to the aiptasia but it has a stem.

Heres a picture. You can see the brown tentacles in the center crevice above the purple stuff and it waves around like it is squishy. The red hitchhiker is lower to the right. I'm sorry if its hard to see, my camera wouldn't focus. I can try to post different pictures later.

img1129a.jpg

EDIT: Second picture.. different angle.

img1131yn.jpg

+1 for aiptasia. chances are these arent the only ones. i have them and man are they a pain! ive been fighting mine for 2 or 3 years. i use aiptasia x which seems to make them go away for a week or two but they always seem to come back. i would try to get rid of them before u put anything in the tank b/c if left unattended they will spread fast. Good luck my friend!

:( Alright, i just found more on a different rock... very small... I'm so sad :( I guess i'm on the way to the LFS.

One last question though- If it comes back, since i don't have anything else in the tank, should i try taking it out and burning/scraping it off??

:( Alright, i just found more on a different rock... very small... I'm so sad :( I guess i'm on the way to the LFS.

One last question though- If it comes back, since i don't have anything else in the tank, should i try taking it out and burning/scraping it off??

oh yeah man, your tank is cycling, and you got no stock in it, take this chance to eradicate it anyway you can before you have stock and corals and other things that limit your options on how you can treat it.