Innovative Marine Aquariums

new to salt. check out my tank

metalhed3

ok. so im pretty new to saltwater. ive have a 75 gallon freshy right now and just sold my 29 gallon molly tank. but while i was home on leave last month in buffalo NY i managed to snag a 24 gallon flat back hex from a local flea market which came with top, light hood and penguin 170 filter. i had to drag that thing back with me halfway across the country to minot. (you dont even wanna know WHAT minot is. lol) anyway. while i was home in buffalo i ordered everything i would need to make this a salt tank. salt, powerheads, skimmer, the works. when i got back to minot i set it up that night. i couldnt help myself. i used the 170 up until a few days ago when i upgraded to a emporer400. i had to pick up a new heater, about 15 lbs of rock, 12 dead, 3 live. i cycled it for a few days then threw 2 chromis in there to test it out. after a few days and a couple test strips i threw a cleaner shrimp in. he acclimated alot easier than i thought he would. ive been adding purple booster in and its really starting to show. just before i left for work a few days ago i picked up 2 percula clowns. VERY interesting little fish. in the subject of lights, i had been researching LED lighting for tanks and decided that would be the easiest way to go because i was familiar with LEDs. i didnt really understand the whole t8 and t5 or whatever it is in the hallide fixture or something. NO! to much for me. so i ordered 4 LED strips, 2 blue and 2 white. and let me tell ya they really brighten up the tank. i do have a question about if they will be efficient enough. heres the specs:

White:

wavelength-x=0.265; y=0.26

Luminous Intensity per LED-1400-2000mcd

current draw-3 LED 20mA-6 LED 40mA

deg. veiw angle-120°

Blue:

wavelength-470 nm

luminous intensity per LED-600-800 mcd

current draw-3 LED 20mA-6 LED 40mA

deg. veiw angle-120°