Cultivated Reef

kgoldy's BC 29 HQI obsession

kgoldy

DISCLAIMER: I have a huge hangover and will probably have to edit this later to translate it to English...

This is my first time venturing into saltwater and reefing... and after years of wanting to get a setup, I finally can afford to get started.

I went with biocube after falling in love with a 14 gallon that my friend had. After his kid put chocolate milk in the tank and killed everything, he gave me his whole system. Because I've got an obsessive personality, I still went out and bought a new BC 29 HQI so I could start fresh. ...and maybe use the 14 for seahorses when I get some experience under my belt.

Substrate-

20 lbs Nature's Ocean Live Sand, Pink Fiji, and 10lbs of some super fine LS from the same company.

Lighting-

Stock HQI 14k bulb, with add on Lunar Light Nocturnal Blue for night viewing. Oceanic fuge light goes on when main lighting goes off. Current "day" schedule is from 4pm to midnight... any more time than that, or starting daytime earlier cooks my tank.

Live Rock-

35-ish pounds from the LFS, with a lot of skeletons I'm keeping in there to seed future projects

Mods-

Removed the tab that everyone else takes out, using a sharp knife.

Took out the stock skimmer because it's a piece of junk.

Koralia 2 on the back wall.

Maxi Jet 1200 with Hydor rotating deflector (poor man's wavemaker).

Bought the inTank full setup, had it in for a few weeks, then removed it because I find it to be more of a waste of space than anything else. (PS it's for sale, pretty much brand new).

Chambers-

1- Stealth heater