Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Tile-Top Stand for 40B Tank

Walking_Target

Walking_Target

I'm in need of a new stand for my 40B.

Let me explain further. The stand that I originally built, while quite suitable and well purposed as a table, lacks a completely level top and thus is a cause for concern. Basically, while the stand is rock solid, one corner is about 1/16" out of true and the tank itself has been shimmed in that corner. While this theoretically *should* be perfectly acceptable, I don't believe it is.

The problem lies in the fact that I don't do finish cabinetry. I have plenty of experience in quickly knocking together tables for work sites, but little to no experience in making something that one would consider furniature. That and this stand was put together quite literally the night before the tank was put on it - short version of the long story: I rescued a large pufferfish from someone who would have otherwise flushed it. So it's not the best stand, but the house will fall apart before the stand does - 3/8" plywood top, 2x6 runners and 4x4 cedar post legs all held together with wood glue, 4" screws and liquid nails.

What I do know is framing, flooring, drywall, panneling, masonry and tile.

Now, my thoughts are to build a new stand, capable of supporting the tank, being leveled independantly of the floor to a limited degree and having a completely water proof tile top.