inTank Media Baskets

Planning for BC14

reptar

Hey guys, I'm new to salt water and thinking about setting up a biocube 14 gallon tank.

I did some research and need your advice on how I should plan this out.

this is what I'm thinking about so far...

Tank Mods:

change stock pump to maxijet 600/900 depending on heat issues

I did some research in the biocube, and everyone is recommending to take out the bio balls. If i do remove the bio balls, what should I replace them with? I don't want to do any lighting mods as I don't want to over heat the tank.

skimmer - would like to add one but not sure what would do well in the bc14, I read that the ones meant for this set up aren't very effective.

Rock/Sand:

15-20 pounds of live rock (not sure the differences of type, perhaps you could help)

15-20 pounds of live sand

Clean Up Crew:

2-3 hermit crabs

2 cleaner shrimp

5 snails

Fish:

1- true A. Percula pair

Corals:

could I have any with the stock lighting?

Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks!

That sounds like a decent setup for starters. you could keep most soft corals under those lights. And as far as your LR question. I would just try to get the most porous rock you can. Not only will it be lighter, but you will have more surface area for your bacteria.

And try to buy your rock based upon shape and size rather than what is on it. Most of your cool hitch hikers will vanish anyways.

how's my stocking situation with 2 clown fish?

my goal is to keep it as low maintenance as possible with a pair of clown fish.

would adding corals be adding more potential issues?

thanks

"how's my stocking situation with 2 clown fish?"

Perfect.

"would adding corals be adding more potential issues?"

With stock lighting you should stick to softies like mushrooms, xenia, and zoas.

I used a Sapphire skimmer in the second chamber of my old BC14. Worked okay but needed lots of adjustment to get the right consistency of skimmate.