Innovative Marine Aquariums

1st DIY build

scokill

Well, I got tired of the AP12 and decided to go with 40g Breeder. I couldn't really find stand local, and it was too expensive to pay shipping, so I decided to build my own. I've never done any of this before, so much reading was required.

Tank is standard 40g AGA breeder. I decided to to through the glass overflow box and two through glass return lines (L/R) from www.glass-holes.com.

Sump is 20g long from petco with 3 chambers, 1st is for overflow and skimmer, second is fuge, third is return pump. I siliconed in the baffles.

Stand is 34" high as I wanted it higher than standard. Construction was from 2x4 doubled in all corners, glued and screwed. I got oak plywood and trim from home depot, and ordered the doors online.

Let me know what you think...

post-35305-1216243304_thumb.jpg

post-35305-1216243591_thumb.jpg

post-35305-1216243605_thumb.jpg

post-35305-1216243318_thumb.jpg

stand looks good...the overflow drain tube is kinda high where it's at. i'm thinking lots of splashing from that height. i would have a coupling & another tube to get it down near the bottom if you want to be able to get the overflow tank in/out easily.

stand looks good...the overflow drain tube is kinda high where it's at. i'm thinking lots of splashing from that height. i would have a coupling & another tube to get it down near the bottom if you want to be able to get the overflow tank in/out easily.

Hmm...there is a coupling at the back (picture 2), so I can takout the whole lower horizontal and vertical assembly in one piece. I wanted to be able to work on/replace the bulkhead or overflow box if there was a problem as the pipe coming down is glued into the bulkhead, and I could undo the current coupling, unscrew bulkhead downpipe and all and replace if need be. I've tried it out and it's pretty easy to do from front.