ReefCleaners.org

terrified teacher

skabooya

I have a freshwater 10gal tank set up in my higschool science class at school. Ive been keeping freshwater tanks for 13 years now. 8 of those years have been planted and in the last 3 years its aquascaped. I currently have 4 tanks and a bowl. a 32 gal freshwater amazon theme (not biotope), 20 gal asian theme (not biotope), 4 gal planted nano, 10 gal low light livebearer tank in my classroom and a 1.5 gal bowl for my 1.5 year old betta and his snail friend :).

School will be over in about 2 weeks, then its exams. Ive been reading up on saltwater tanks for a few years now. I am terrified to start one. I wanted to convert my 20 gal a long time ago and asked questions about it on this forum, then i decided against it (timing). Then i wanted to do it again and changed my mind (cost), then the same thing happened again (fear of toxins). Now i want to do it again but on a smaller scale. The reason being that i will have an empty 10gal ready. I will have an extra filter (although im not sure i would use it), water changes will be easy, 1 gal a week (thats a milk jug). Its supposted to be easier than discus, maintenance wise and, I STILL WANT TO TRY SALT!

I want to keep things very simple. I mean Very simple! I would like it as a long term tank. It will be going into my home office on my bookshelf. (its nice and sturdy so no worries).

Ive read a lot of people using the screw in PC's and having luck although i hear that the only complaint is they are limited to what they can keep. This is the route i am strongly considering going. I cannot in any way afford MH lighting or a $200 fixture for a just in case i want to add different corals.

I know exactly which corals i LOVE and i havent changed my mind in the many years ive been researching.

I can maybe steal another lighting hood off a 10gal from my brothers old turtle tank that he doesnt use any more but i hope i dont have to go in that direction.