Cultivated Reef

My Aquapod 24 w/150W HQI Metal Halide System

Jungle_John

Jungle_John

so im new and this is my first try here. i got my tank and set it up monday, i got 2 pounds of rock 20lbs of sand and 25gals of water for 60$. i figure this was very good so im excited. i got 8 more lbs of rock today and im going to try to get another 15 within the next few days. this is what im working with.

Equipment

24 Gallon Current Usa Aquapod w/150W HQI Metal Halide System

stock return pump (this pump weak any suggested upgrades?)

Filtration

stock bio balls and ceramic tubes

2x of the Stock Sponges

10+lbs. Live Rock From Fiji (getting 15 more so ill be at 25lbs, that should be enough right?)

20lbs. fuji pink Live Sand

Livestock

NONE hehe im going to let this cycle for 2-3 weeks before i add anything. i got all my stuff pre-cycle and ready but i know i need to let my bio bacteria to grow:) as when i get every thing set i dont know if i want to go fish or seashores or try risky work and do both. sense i was thinking sea-horses i decided to make a reef tank that resemble a reef on the edge of a kelp forest or something. so my tank is the mixing spot of both.

what do you guys think? i love suggestions , idea on fish and personal info. pump references? you think seashores will bump reef to much? im not going to add them first i want to add a few corals and emerald crabs and snails and all that and then a few months later add fish or horses.

so stopping me here on the blabber and here some photos, there on my phone so sorry for size. what yall think?:)

front

IMG_0192.jpg

corner

IMG_0193.jpg

side

IMG_0194.jpg

IMG_0195.jpg

:D

this has been fun and more to come:)

Congrats on your tank thread! :D

Looks good, but here are a few things:

You'll want to upgrade the stock pump. Just about everyone with APs and NCs change them, so have a look around and see what would be a good option.