Coral Vue Hydros

My First Marine Aquarium (BC 14)

Lear

Hello everyone,

This is my first post, regarding my first marine aquarium ... a Biocube 14g!

I would really appreciate help & advice, but I'm the sensitive type, so be nice please!

I'm going to have a lot of Noob questions....

(I've been keeping freshwater fish (mostly rainbowfish) in heavily planted tanks for about 10 years, breeding them in an "oh my god, there are baby fish, what do I do now?" fashion, plus I'm a grad student in a microbiology lab, so I'm not completely clueless about fish and water chemistry -- but still fairly clueless, especially where salt water is concerned. I'm so used to the plants in my freshwater aquariums being awesome filters that I'm not used to worrying about water quality...)

I've been considering getting a nano reef aquarium "at some point" for a very long time, but last Friday I ran into an amazing deal I just couldn't pass up -- and suddenly I've got an awesome used Biocube 14 that's already full of life, and... oh my god, what do I do now?

My first questions are:

1) temperature advice

2) when to go to the store and get a cleanup crew

3) what cleanup crew to get

4) which light to use, and what time cycle

5) where to get an RO or RO/DI system

Read on for the details to help me answer these questions:

I just picked up my new money-and-time sink yesterday; I got an absolutely amazing deal on an already established system (with no fish or corals yet). It came with the BC14 cube (w/ a few of the standard suggested changes -- LR rubble instead of bioballs, MJ900 pump, Visi-Therm Stealth 50W heater, widened flow between chambers 1&2) , stand, salt mix, a nice digital thermometer, ammonia/nitrate/nitrite/pH/Ca Salifert test kits, Sybon refractometer, and the "Reef Invertebrates" and "Corals" books -- which I've started reading, but it will be awhile before I make it through them! It also came with... a 70W metal-halide Sunpod!