Pod Your Reef

ID HELP

elmar

Hi - I am new to SW and would like some help identifying this. I started a pico tank and it has been cycling for about 3 weeks. All i have is 2 hermit crabs. Earlier today, I had the lighting off and noticed when I turned them on this thing had some tiny and skiny white tentacles. However, they retracted when I left the light on. What is it?

http://gallery.mac.com/roberto88#100007&am...black&sel=0

post-31243-1192245920_thumb.jpg

I'm not 100% sure from that pic but I think you may have a Pseudocorynactis "anemone." (While these are often called anemones, sometimes "strawberry anemones" I believe, they are actually corallimorpharians, i.e., members of the mushroom taxon.)

The verdict on these is mixed. Many consider them a pretty cool hitchhiker, though they do present a threat to some fish when large. You can find a lot of threads (and pics) in this forum about them if you search. Meanwhile here's an article in which they're mentioned, and one of the N-R threads about them (Icyoudd..., a poster on that thread, has a lot of experience with these guys).

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/oct2002/invert.htm

http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/index.php?...ctis+corynactis

--Diane

After looking through boht of your links, I am pretty convinced that it is a Pseudocorynactis. I will do some more research tough. I must admit, it is a pretty cool looking thing though. Today tried playing it with it. Submerged a plastic spoon to have it touch some of its tiny tentacles and immediately reacted. As I tried pulling out the spoon, gently of course, i noticed that it would not let go. It seem as if the tiny balls were glued onto the spoon.

That stickiness, plus the light sensitivity you mentioned, really fit the description well.

Let me know how this critter works out for you! :)

--Diane

formerly icyuodd/icyoud2