Cultivated Reef

Matt's DIY auto-top-off

mp216

Hey there!

I am new to NR and let me just say that this site is amazing. Like many other newbs, I have been quietly lurking in the background reading up on everything and dreaming about having my own nano-reef. I finally bit the bullet and decided to buy a NC12, only because I was able to get it for a very good price. Needless to say, I am very excited. Since I am going to be moving in a few months, I thought I would wait until after I move to get things set up. In the mean time I will be keeping myself busy DIYing and modding my cube until its ready to go.

I was reading about auto-top-off units on other posts and thought this might be a good start for me. From what I have read, there is a great deal of concern about one major thing: Float switch failure!

I did some research and found a great way to overcome this problem. The basis of my design will be Undertheradar's air powered ATO. Let me just say here thank-you to Undertheradar or whoever came up with this design, and I hope I am giving the appropriate person their due credit. If you want to build a pump like mine, read Undertheradar’s post first so you can understand the concept.

Here is the materials list and prices for my ATO.

- Battery powered pump, Wal-Mart (fishing dept) $7

- Cigarette Lighter voltage adapter, Wal-Mart (electronics dept) $16

- Float switch, aquahub.com $6.49+shipping

- 12 Volt Shutoff timer and Relay $24.99+shipping

- 12 Volt plugs and LED w/resistor (all optional) radio-shack approx. $10

- 12 Volt power supply, found in my basement $free!!!

I started by gutting out the battery compartment on the air pump. I won’t need the batteries; I’m using a 12 volt DC plug in power supply. I gutted the box using a utility knife and my dremel tool. I cut off all of the plastic tabs and then ground them down with the dremel.

The pump:

post-17680-1173732909_thumb.jpg

Gutting the pump:

post-17680-1173733099_thumb.jpg