SaltCritters.com

Is this Yellow Clown Goby ( okinawa goby) skinny?

Soneca-II

Hi,

I did already posted some day's ago a question regarding their menu since i'm having some troubles ( like other users).

He is eating somewhat well brine shrimp but pellets, flake he just spit's. Bought mysis this weekend but i believe he spits much more than what he eats.

I can't understand looking at the fish if he is getting skinny or not since i'm new to the hobby and its difficult to me to evaluate such condittion.

Can someone comment ( sorry for the bad phone photo quality)?

post-44371-0-70552600-1476127192_thumb.jpg

Thanks in advance.

They usually get a sucken look or the lateral line starts showing.

Try feeding it mysis. Using a pipette to direct it in his area will help.

As you admit, not the best photo (but other people have posted worst, asking more detailed questions :) ).

Doesn't look too skinny/starved to me. Could stand to be a little more sleek but that will come with time & decent food. Try crushing your pellets - mine spits out full size ones as well (omega one marine micro pellets at that) but is a pig when it comes to smaller bites.

Hi, thanks for the feedback.

I will try this afternoon to take a better photo.

I have already tried to crush my pellets but he just don't bite them. This morning i have fed mysis after the 2 clowns eat some pellets and he eats some but comparing with the clowns it's just too little.

I already understood that in the beginning he grabs and eats quite slowly but eats, after a couple of minutes he grabs the food and then just spits and grab the same piece and spits again.

nevertheless this afternoon i will try some brine / pellets with vitamins.

Other thing that is just annoying is that all 3 fishes just stay in one corner behind and arround an hydor koralia, this i still need to understand :/.

BR,

Rui

You may need to chop up the mysis into smaller pieces. It may be too big for it.