SaltCritters.com

Help: Rescued pico/nano tank that has been neglected

bigmoose

Greetings,

I'm new to the world of saltwater/marine aquariums. I am familiar with the basics of freshwater aquariums, and I had been considering a saltwater setup for a few years now.

I found this one on craigslist, and decided to 'impusle' buy for $100.

"I am selling my saltwater 6 gallon nano fish tank with fish and hermit crabs and mini starfish. I just don't have the time absolutely nothing wrong with this tank. over $400 worth of live rock, fish, sand, crabs, corals, heater, led lights both blue night lights and day lights and tank. selling for $100 firm call xxx-xxxx"

00T0T_hw4AJanxhFi_600x450.jpg

00u0u_j2YLY6UYOdi_600x450.jpg

00808_dAsFzXGiI1K_600x450.jpg

It was about an hour ride home, and it has taken some time for things to settle down. It looks like the clown fish is alive and happy. I found 2 micro/mini star fish. I haven't spotted the hermit crab yet, or the emerald crab yet.

I picked out the big globs of algae and then refilled with some RO water. The tank has been sitting for about 3 hours now, and is a fair bit clearer.

Here is what I figured with the testing of the water:
SG 1.026, salinity 35ish, PH is about 8.0, Amonia 0, Nitrite 0, nitrate and 0. Calcium I haven't tested yet. I'm still reading how the test is done and watching some youtube video's.
The water temp is approx 78 degrees.

It looks like some sort of fluval tank. And there are some pretty gnarly things stuck to the glass, heater, and water filter. The magnet cleaner isn't doing much of anything with most of the stuff that is not green.

I have no idea what type of live rock, or corals are in here. I had been planning on a fish only with live rock tank. But I'll work with what I have.

Moving forward, what are the next steps to re-habilitate this tank and ensure that none of the little guys in there die or get sick from the stress with the move?