Top Shelf Aquatics

Starting my first saltwater 20 gallon Long Rimless Mr. Aqua

iammrhappy123

iammrhappy123

Starting my very first saltwater fish tank.

I have about 8-10 years of freshwater experience with many large tanks and ponds.

I have a 1000 gallon pond in my backyard thats been running with a ton of FW fish and turtles etc. Easy peasy stuff.

Decided to join the saltwater community. I'm in way over my head, but eff it, I want to do this.

Been doing a ton of research and a lot of the terminology is foreign to me. The only thing that is famliar to me is the nitrogen cycle haha. But even then the factors in the promoting the saltwater nitrogen cycle is WAY different from the FW cycle. But the concept is the same.

I have several questions about where to start.

Goals: 2-3 livestock/3 clean up crew/and 1 RBTA for the first year. Maybe look into a Torch LPS later in the year. Sumpless for now.

I am going to buy Mr. Aqua's 20 gallon Long Rimless Tank

Dimensions: 36L x 12W x 12H - looks sexy as hell.

Equipment Questions:

1) I am deciding if I should go with:

- interal protein skimmer

or

- HOB Aqua Clear 70 + DIY media basket for a mini refugium (~$90)

or

- Eheim 2213 canister (found a deal for ~$60) - maybe not due to concerns of nitrate factory?

I'm interested in running both an internal skimmer and the HOB/media basket set up

Biological Filtration/ Water Chemistry

2) How often should I be doing water changes with a tank of this size? What percentage of water changes?

I heard that Water change frequency and size depends on what type of mechanical filtration I use.

What are your thoughts?

3) Can you guys suggest a decently price and effective RODI system? I have one for drinking water, but I know that isn't suitable for aquarium environments. I also have access to a ultra pure Deionized water machine at the hospital I work at, but that seems inconvienient. I'm not even sure if I could use that water. Anyone know?

Lighting