Cultivated Reef

'Ello

Sarr_Cat

Well, I think I've spent enough time lurking on here already... might as well join, as I'm interested enough! No, I don't have a nano reef of my own... or even a saltwater tank. I have kept small freshwater tanks before, mostly bettas and small planted tanks. I got a 5.5 gal. at a garage sale a little while ago, and while I would love to make it into a nano reef... I really don't trust myself to keep 5.5 gallons of saltwater chemically stable enough to be worth attempting reef keeping in, given that I have no saltwater experience whatsoever! Sure, I "know" a lot, from reading books, from the forums, all kinds of stuff, but without experience, that won't do me much good. I think if/when I eventually get started myself, it'll be with something in the 10-40 gallon range. In the meantime, I can have a nice mini planted tank in that 5.5.

Oh, yeah, hi by the way!

~Sarr ∑:3

porkchop-rob

Well, I think I've spent enough time lurking on here already... might as well join, as I'm interested enough! No, I don't have a nano reef of my own... or even a saltwater tank. I have kept small freshwater tanks before, mostly bettas and small planted tanks. I got a 5.5 gal. at a garage sale a little while ago, and while I would love to make it into a nano reef... I really don't trust myself to keep 5.5 gallons of saltwater chemically stable enough to be worth attempting reef keeping in, given that I have no saltwater experience whatsoever! Sure, I "know" a lot, from reading books, from the forums, all kinds of stuff, but without experience, that won't do me much good. I think if/when I eventually get started myself, it'll be with something in the 10-40 gallon range. In the meantime, I can have a nice mini planted tank in that 5.5.

Oh, yeah, hi by the way!

~Sarr ∑:3

I started with a 6 gallon nano....No big deal.

Get you a AC 20 HOB filter, some good live rock, a light, and a heater.