ReefCleaners.org

Phosphate Reactor?

Admonition

I've been fighting green hair algae for about 3 months now with little success. The GHA grows on my sandbed, covers my powerhead, rear chamber, and has taken a foothold on my BRS Reef Saver Dry rock (avoiding my coraline algae covered live rock). I believe that the root of my phosphate issue was the dry rock, which was added to the two year old established system about 7 months ago. I believe the rock released large amount of phosphates and possibly created a mini cycle. I have subsequently not been able to win the GHA battle by black outs, Astrea snails, manual picking, brushing (inside tank cause I can't remove rocks), CPE or purigen.

I recently purchased a skimmer (Tunze 9001) in the hopes that a skimmer would help in removing the excess nutrients before they break down and fuel the GHA (plus I simply wanted to try one out lol). On top of that, a phosphate reactor running GFO has been recommended in every "How do I get of GHA" thread I've researched.

Subsequently, I am debating about getting one and trying it out in conjunction with everything else. I have never used one, so I was hoping for recommendations on one from you guys. I would prefer one I can stick in the rear chamber of my tank (to eliminate the possibility of a loose hose spewing water all over my floor) but I'm not limited to just those.

I've seen lots of good reviews on the Innovative Marine MiniMax Reactor and the Phosban Reactor by TLF. Anyone have comments on either of these or suggestions of a different one?

O. K., first things first.....

Have you tested P04 levels? If so, what are they? If you haven't tested P04, I would suggest getting a test kit.