ReefCleaners.org

ways to color up ricordea?

amored

hey everyone,

i have recently downgraded my 16G nuvo to a 4G nuvo pico with the intention of having it be a ric garden with sexy shrimp (and a trio of tiny green banded gobies that i just couldn't pass up). i am a poor grad student and in an effort to save money on shipping i bought a 15-pack of ricordeas from an ebay seller, rather than cherry-picking high-end rics and paying $35 shipping for each (ugh). some of them seem like they could be really fantastic colored (look nice under actinics) but under my regular LEDs they're pretty brownish and dull. some even are whited out (came that way).

params:

SG: 1.025

temp: 78*

nitrate: .5 ppm

phosphate: 0

light is one of the stock LED fixtures from my nuvo 16 (8W 14K LED).

any suggestions for making the colors nicer? anything i can dose, adjust, or feed?

thanks!

I wrote this up for another site recently that might help you out:

Flow: Many of these Ricordia are found in protected locations, such as lagoon areas in nature. I found a number of small yuma colonies on my last trip to Palau in just such locations in ~15 ft of water. My Ricordia are happiest when an intermittent flow just gently lifts up the polyp skirt as can be seen below following the link:

WildYuma11-3-20142-17PM_zpsd9cdbfb1.png

http://vid230.photobucket.com/albums...ps90lszxg4.mp4

Lighting: All Rics that I have started out with ~80 PAR on the sand bed, but over time as I've upgraded my lighting they have responded well to the increased intensity of a 'full spectrum' DIY LED array.