Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Topless Fluval Edge 12g

Zoom1

Starting a new project. Recently removed the top of my Fluval Edge 12g, which seems to be the popular decision among Edge owners. Tank seemed to maintain it's structural integrity just fine, and looks 100x better as a rimless tank!

I'm still pretty new to the hobby and am open to any successful opinions on how to run the tank.

Lighting - I'm leaning towards PAR38 bulbs from RapidLED. 1 bulb or 2? I like the look of a hanging light as opposed to a fixture. With these bulbs, I'm assuming there is only one setting(on/off). What do you do at night? Leave it off or find a lower intensity night bulb?

Filter - Read many, many opposing opinions and I am open to any ideas that work and relatively easy to a new reefer. I would like the option to keep advanced corals in the tank if I choose. I'd rather not use a sump and a bit confused as to how a refuge works. Again, I'm open to all ideas as long as they have proven successful.

Power heads - I currently own a Koralis Nano and was thinking of purchasing another to go on the opposite side to create more turbulence.

My goal is to be able to keep more advanced corals if I choose, however will stock with easy corals to start. I have read that nanos do not require skimmers and refuges and have read that they do.

Any info to help get me started buying supplies would be greatly appreciated. Look forward to being around on the site.

Thanks!

I would think given the size of the tank that one light would be more than enough but I don't have experiences with par38s so ill let someone else confirm that. As for night you could get one of those moonlight led's and mount that somewhere on the light. Otherwise you can go without the moonlight and just run a light during the day.