Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

My new 7G Mini-Bow

Occult

Hi guys,

After purchasing my mini-bow over a year ago, I've been meaning to turn it into a nano-reef for the longest time. As of 2 days ago, I finally did. This is my first attempt at a saltwater tank, after numerous years of keeping freshwater.

My equipment is:

7 Gal Mini-Bow (Kinda obvious)

2x40 Watt Current Orbit

AC500 modded for refug (with a 13 watt lighting)

A minijet 404

10 lbs of live rock

10 lbs of live sand

My water params are:

Temp: 80.8 F

PH: 7.87

s.g.: 1.029 (Never using a hdyrometer again)

Ammonia: 0.5 ppm

Nitrite: 2 ppm

Alk: 13 dkh

Calcium: 430 ppm

So right now my biggest issue is trying to get my salinity down. I already did a 10% water change, but I don't know what else I can do.

Also I wouldn't mind any comments on my aquascape.

harbingerofthefish

as far as salintiy, add fresh water...thin out whats in the tank. Then make up a few batches of SW and test to see the SG of it.

as far as aqua scaping...i have a 7 bow and I need more rock. Sure your going to add more when you get corals etal...but you might want to go ahead and ad more now just so that it will cycle witht the rest.

of course, ignore that if you want more of a look that you currently have.

Thanks for the warm welcome,

I added freshwater as you recommeded, and now my s.g. is at 1.026, so all is good for now. It concerns me that my ph is a bit low. I heard it was normal for it to drop during cycling, can anyone confirm that?

I kinda like the open look of my nano, and honestly given my budget I don't think I could afford to put in more. I'm also glad that there's almost no smell, that kind of worried me.

harbingerofthefish

Not a clue on the pH thing. sorry.