inTank Media Baskets

A total beginner's LED build is successful

ReggieF

My LEDs came in today and having absolutely, no experience whatsoever with LEDs or any kind of soldering or anything, I've gotten my LED build up and running great. Here are some pics, a hardware list and some notes from a complete n00b's perspective! Woo, I'm stoked :)

$20 - 1 x Cree Royal Blue XP-E 3-up

$22 - 1 x Cree White XP-G 3-up

- (I could also opt to get 1 Cool White and 1 "Warm White" individual LEDs, but I wanted to keep it simple by getting two identical 3-up circles)

$35 - 18w Power Supply with Driver (Also called a "constant current" driver)

- This can be had much cheaper from other vendors like www.dealextreme.com

$7 - 1x Arctic Alumina thermal adhesive

$4 - 1 x CoolViva Z1 VGA heatsink

$3 - 2 x Elliptical 3-up Optic cute covers

Tools used:

$15 - 60w ECG soldering iron (I should've gotten a smaller one, the bigger ones are harder to hold stable)

$5 - Power cable with one slightly bigger prong (this is called polarized I think)

$2 - Small amount of solder wire

$2 - Electrical tape

- Scissors (wire cutters would be better)

Total time taken: 2-3 hours

Total cost: $120

Specs: 18 Watts - 6 LEDs @ 700 mA

This is the light almost 3 feet above my 5.5 gallon tank, it's ridiculously bright. Visually I think this is way more light than a 75w MH.

post-58704-1288415363_thumb.jpg

Another shot of the light above the tank, I had to take an HDR to turn down the glare, it's very bright.

post-58704-1288415707_thumb.jpg

These are the 3-up LEDs I used with their eliptical optics.

post-58704-1288415728_thumb.jpg

This is how I wrapped the wires together before soldering, but I taped them not knowing that i was supposed to solder them!

post-58704-1288415744_thumb.jpg

These are the poorly soldered wires. The black spots on the wires are residue left over from my pre-emptive taping spree haha.

post-58704-1288415757_thumb.jpg