SaltCritters.com

55 AGA Cold Water Tank - New England Coast Tank

anemone fan

Seeing how I work in a lab at UNH working with cold-water species I thought that it would be a great idea to show the masses some of the animals that reside here (whether they be introduced, invasive, or native) and describe a little about the organism. Here it is.

Updates:

Hey all, just purchased a chiller for our lab's (anemone fan and rbengal) 55 gallon display tank to keep it and a brisk 59 degrees Fahrenheit. Starting up a cold water tank, oh yeah. Natural rocks and animals caught via intertidal trips and SCUBA are going to be the norm. This tank used to be a room temperature tank (no heater/chiller) with a few species of anemones and some snails, but nothing exciting. It is now being converted to a cold-water tank so that more species can be taken care of. Subscribe if you want to see a really cool tank develop.

FTS: 1/11 (2.5 Months)

DSC_3788.jpg

Inverts Involved:

Sagartia elegans var. rosea (Magenta Sea Anemone)

Diadumene lineata (Orange-Lined Sea Anemone)

Metridium senile (Frilled Sea Anemone)

Littorina littorea (Common Periwinkle)

Mytulis edulis (Blue Mussel)

Botryllus schlosseri (Golden Star Tunicate)

Pagurus pollicaris (Flat-Clawed Hermit Crab)

Verts Involved:

2 Tautogolabrus adspersus (Cunner)

Equipment:

Mini-Jet 606 (to feed chiller) (Planning on more for water movement)

2 Korallia Evolution 1050

Standard 55 AGA Light and Hood (Planning on an improvement for algae growth)

Tetra Whisper EX70 (for manual filtration)

TECO TR5 Chiller

STAY TUNED...MORE TO COME SHORTLY...THANKS FOR WATCHIN'

Animal Photos:

DSC_3355.jpg

Sagartia elegans var. rosea (Magenta Sea Anemone)

Phylum: Cnidaria (animals with cnidocytes (stinging cells))

Class: Anthozoa (Cnidarians without a medusa-stage (doesn't swim ever))

Order: Actinaria (True Sea Anemones)

Description: