Innovative Marine Aquariums

Moose's JBJ 28G Nano Cube

scottpw25

Hello All!

I am starting what will hopefully be a fun and fulfilling journey into the nano - reef aquarium world. My purpose for this thread is to not only document my endeavors as the saltwater aquarium world's newest

"noob", but to provide yet another source of learning for myself and anyone else who might have the same setup that I do along with the same questions.

As stated, I am new to the hobby and hope that many people will visit this thread to provide comments, suggestions, do's and don't s, etc. I have already asked an encyclopedia's worth of questions on this site and appreciate the wealth of information that I have gained so far from people willing to take the time to answer my questions.

So here goes nothing. :o

My setup thus far:

Last Friday I received my brand new JBJ 28 gallon NC w/150w HQI in the mail complete with the new free stand. Here is the spot where I my new aquarium went, that's my little helper on the right.

post-35475-1207274120_thumb.jpg

I can't complain about the condition of the aquarium upon arrival as it was flawless except for the lip on the media basket where you hang it on the side was broken off and missing. That's not enough for me to worry about anything. Anyways, by Sunday night it had been filled with fresh water, leak/equipment tested, and had the Instant Ocean sea salt mixed in. On Monday the SG tested good at 1.023, the PH was 8.0 ( a little low but the LFS store said that the LR will raise the PH), and a high temp of 83 after 8 hours of the HQI light on (hopefully the fan will prevent me from having to buy a chiller). Since Monday I have kept my windows cracked along with the small lid on the canopy and the temps have held between 74 - 77 degrees.