Innovative Marine Aquariums

Shawn's 50G cube - now with 100% more sexy

shawnb199

Hi all,

I'm new to posting here, but have been lurking for the past several months as I've planned for and started putting this tank together. I've had one foray into saltwater before, but I had no idea what I was doing, didn't have the money to buy the right stuff, and killed a bunch of fish and inverts.

I'm still a complete and total noob, but hopefully I've done enough research and have enough cash flow to keep stuff alive this time!

My tank is up and running, sand is in. I'm waiting on the sand to settle enough to finish my rockscape, and will post pictures starting with the dry rockscape. Here's my equipment list:

50G CAD Lights cube w/ stock plumbing and return pump

18G CAD Lights sump

CAD Lights PLS-100 skimmer

NR-1 Nano-reactor

Maxspect Razor R420R (120W / 20" model)

2x Vortech MP10WES Vortech MP40WES

Tunze Osmollator ATO

Advanced Acrylics 9G topoff reservoir

Jager 150W heater + Jager 125W heater

60 lbs Carib Sea special grade live sand

~30 lbs reef cleaners dry rock

Red Sea Coral Pro salt

Planning to add a controller in the next 6 months or so, and possibly dosing pumps when I figure out what that's all about. I'm still trying to figure out what I'd like to stock in this tank, but am taking my time and don't feel rushed to make that decision too soon. I'm sure a mated pair of clowns are in my future (I have a kid), and I think I'd like a jawfish, but I haven't thought through coral selections or inverts yet.

Here are a few shots of my first attempt at rockscape. It's easy for me to see why people go through iteration after iteration before settling on something. Apologies for the haziness, placing the rocks kicked up a bunch of dust that hasn't settled yet.

DSC_9586_zps91360a39.jpg

DSC_9587_zps252bb826.jpg

Side shot. I think I'm going to move the MP10s to the back wall.

DSC_9588_zps06fc9f60.jpg

I like that tunnel, is that glued together?