Top Shelf Aquatics

My New Cadlights 34 Mini II!

Rek84

My new Cadlights 34 gallon tank and custom stand finally arrived today! I've had a 14 gallon biocube, but this is the first "mid size" tank I've had since Hurricane Katrina destroyed my 75 gallon reef tank years ago. After that happened, I basically gave up. But, after puttering around with the biocube, I was bitten by the "reef bug" again, and decided that I wanted something larger, but not as large as what I once had.

I was very nervous about ordering a tank through the mail, but everything arrived today from Cadlights, and although it will be a little while before I get to leak test and fully check everything out, so far things seem just fine! I thought I would try to document this experience to share it with everyone (I've never done a post like this before, so please be gentle with me!)

Here is the custom built Cadlights stand, still in the process of unpacking it. I really like it! Very nice and glossy in person, with two adjustable shelves for the inside and a place in the back to pass cords through.

Anotherfrontshotofstand1_zps1effc521.jpg

And here we go...the box with the tank....is everything inside in one piece???

Boxtankwasin_zps046e363c.jpg

So far, things seem to be looking good! They did a very nice job of packing everything and kudos to Fed-Ex freight for getting it here. Man, I'm getting excited now!

Unpackingtank_zpsbc20f5fc.jpg

View from top, with lid on. I have the Cadlights 50 Skimmer and the Nano Reactor as well, and that is what you see in the tank, along with some of the brackets used to hold the glass hood in place, which I have on for this photo.

ViewfromTopofTank_zpsd2d4bde2.jpg

View looking across the back of the sump

IMG_20140513_143342_zpsf32bf556.jpg